Access Keys:

Ballydown Primary School, Banbridge


Northern Ireland

The Revised Northern Ireland Curriculum defines the primary school within 3 stages. These are:-                          

FOUNDATION STAGE Years 1- 2 (P1- 2)
KEY STAGE 1 Years 3 - 4 (P3 - P4)
KEY STAGE 2 Years 5 - 7 (P5 - P7)

The curriculum for the three stages is set out in six Areas of Learning:

Language and Literacy (including Talking and Listening, Reading and Writing)

Mathematics and Numeracy (focusing on the development of mathematical concepts and numeracy across the curriculum)

The Arts (including Art and Design, Music, Drama)

The World Around Us (focusing on the development of knowledge, skills and understanding in History, Geography, Science and Technology)

Personal Development and Mutual Understanding

(focusing on emotional development, social skills, learning to learn, health, relationships and sexuality education and mutual understanding in the local and global community)

Physical Education (focusing on the development of knowledge, skills and understanding through play and a range of physical activities)

Religious Education (additional area of learning)

At the heart of the curriculum lies an explicit emphasis on the development of skills and capabilities for lifelong learning and for operating effectively in society. Through opportunities to engage in active learning contexts across all areas of the curriculum, children should progressively develop:-


Cross – Curricular Skills:

  • Communication
  • Using Mathematics
  • Using Information and Communications Technology


Thinking Skills and Personal Capabilities:

  • Thinking, Problem–Solving and Decision-Making
  • Self Management
  • Working with Others
  • Managing Information
  • Being Creative